# Seven Pines Symposium XVII "The Conceptual Development of Quantum Physics" May 15–19, 2013

# **Program & Participants**

(Breakfast 8:30-9:15 or 9:30 A.M., Lunch and Free Time 12:30-3:30 P.M. Cocktails and Dinner 7:00 P.M.)

# Wednesday, May 15

6:30 P.M. Welcome, Cocktails and Dinner

#### Thursday, May 16

9:15–9:45 Introduction: Lee Gohlike (Outing Lodge)

# 9:45–10:45: From classical mechanics to quantum mechanics

Session Chair:

- (a) Schrödinger and *Umdeutung*: **Jürgen Renn** (MPIWG, Berlin)
- (b) The necessity of quantum mechanics: **Olivier Darrigol** (CNRS, Paris)

10:45-11:15 Break

11:15-12:30 Discussion

### 3:30–4:30: New perspectives on the birth of quantum mechanics

Session Chair:

- (a) From the perspective of solid-state physics: **Christian Joas** (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich)
- (b) From the point of view of the Sommerfeld school: **Suman Seth** (Cornell)

4:30-5:00 Break

5:00–6:30 Discussion

#### Friday, May 17

#### 9:30–10:30: History of interpretations of quantum mechanics

Session Chair:

- (a) 20s & 30s: **Guido Bacciagaluppi** (Aberdeen)
- (b) 50s through 70s: **Olival Freire** (Bahia Brasil)

10:30-11:00 Break

11:00-12:30 Discussion

## 3:30–4:30 **History of entanglement**

Session Chair:

- (a) **Jos Uffink** (Minnesota)
- (b) Experiment: **Edward Fry** (Texas A&M)

4:30-5:00 Break

5:00-6:30 Discussion

## Saturday, May 18

9:30-10:30: Quantum field theory I

Session Chair:

- (a) 20s & 30s: **Christoph Lehner** (MPIWG, Berlin)
- (b) 40s & 50s: **Alexander Blum** (MPIWG, Berlin)

10:30-11:00 Break

11:00-12:30 Discussion

# 3:30-4:30 Quantum field theory II

Session Chair:

- (a) In particle physics: **Anthony Duncan** (University of Pittsburgh)
- (b) In condensed-matter physics (i): **Gordon Baym** (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
- (c) In condensed-matter physics (ii): **Philip W. Anderson** (Princeton)

4:30-5:00 Break

5:00-6:30 Discussion

#### Sunday, May 19

9:30-11:30 Wrap up session

Session Chair:

#### **Discussants:**

- Clayton Gearhart (St. John's, Minnesota)
- Michel Janssen (Minnesota)
- Roger Stuewer (Minnesota)

# **Non-speaking Board members:**

- Geoffrey Hellman (Minnesota)
- Don Howard (Notre Dame)
- John Norton (Pittsburgh)
- Serge Rudaz (Minnesota)
- Philip Stamp (Vancouver)
- Bill Unruh (Vancouver)
- Bob Wald (Chicago)

## **Junior Discussants:**

- Matt Gorski (Notre Dame)
- Martin Jähnert (MPIWG, Berlin)
- Tom Pashby (Pittsburgh)
- Ben Wilson (MIT)

# **Observers:**

 members of the Physics Interest Group (PIG) of the Minnesota Center for Philosophy of Science